Come To Grace, Share God’s Word

August 12, 2012

Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost

(Proper 14, Lectionary 19))

FIRST READING: 1 Kings 19:4-8

4[Elijah] walked another whole day into the desert. Finally, he came to a large bush and sat down in its shade. He begged the LORD, “I’ve had enough. Just let me die! I’m no better off than my ancestors.” 5Then he lay down in the shade and fell asleep.
Suddenly an angel woke him up and said, “Get up and eat.” 6Elijah looked around, and by his head was a jar of water and some baked bread. He sat up, ate and drank, then lay down and went back to sleep.
7Soon the LORD’S angel woke him again and said, “Get up and eat, or else you’ll get too tired to travel.” 8So Elijah sat up and ate and drank.
The food and water made him strong enough to walk forty more days. At last, he reached Mount Sinai, the mountain of God,

PSALMODY: Psalm 34:1-8

1I will always praise the LORD.
2With all my heart, I will praise the LORD.
       Let all who are helpless, listen and be glad.
3Honor the LORD with me! Celebrate his great name.

4I asked the LORD for help,
and he saved me from all my fears.
5Keep your eyes on the LORD! You will shine like the sun
and never blush with shame.
6I was a nobody, but I prayed,
       and the LORD saved me from all my troubles.

7If you honor the LORD, his angel will protect you.
8Discover for yourself that the LORD is kind.
       Come to him for protection, and you will be glad.

SECOND READING: Ephesians 4:25– 5:2

          25We are part of the same body. Stop lying and start telling each other the truth. 26Don’t get so angry that you sin. Don’t go to bed angry 27and don’t give the devil a chance.
28If you are a thief, quit stealing. Be honest and work hard, so you will have something to give to people in need.
29Stop all your dirty talk. Say the right thing at the right time and help others by what you say.
30Don’t make God’s Spirit sad. The Spirit makes you sure that someday you will be free from your sins.
31Stop being bitter and angry and mad at others. Don’t yell at one another or curse each other or ever be rude. 32Instead, be kind and merciful, and forgive others, just as God forgave you because of Christ.
Do as God does. After all, you are his dear children. 2Let love be your guide. Christ loved us and offered his life for us as a sacrifice that pleases God.

GOSPEL: John 6:35, 41-51

35Jesus replied:

I am the bread that gives life! No one who comes to me will ever be hungry. No one who has faith in me will ever be thirsty.

          41The people started grumbling because Jesus had said he was the bread that had come down from heaven. 42They were asking each other, “Isn’t he Jesus, the son of Joseph? Don’t we know his father and mother? How can he say that he has come down from heaven?”
43Jesus told them:

Stop grumbling! 44No one can come to me, unless the Father who sent me makes them want to come. But if they do come, I will raise them to life on the last day. 45One of the prophets wrote, “God will teach all of them.” And so everyone who listens to the Father and learns from him will come to me.

46The only one who has seen the Father is the one who has come from him. No one else has ever seen the Father. 47I tell you for certain that everyone who has faith in me has eternal life.

48I am the bread that gives life! 49Your ancestors ate manna in the desert, and later they died. 50But the bread from heaven has come down, so that no one who eats it will ever die. 51I am that bread from heaven! Everyone who eats it will live forever. My flesh is the life-giving bread that I give to the people of this world.

Leave a Reply

