Read It Here, Sunday, May 27, 2012

May 27,2012

Day of Pentecost

 FIRST READING: Acts 2:1-21

 On the day of Pentecost all the LORD’S followers were together in one place. 2Suddenly there was a noise from heaven like the sound of a mighty wind! It filled the house where they were meeting. 3Then they saw what looked like fiery tongues moving in all directions, and a tongue came and settled on each person there. 4The Holy Spirit took control of everyone, and they began speaking whatever languages the Spirit let them speak.
       5Many religious Jews from every country in the world were living in Jerusalem. 6And when they heard this noise, a crowd gathered. But they were surprised, because they were hearing everything in their own languages. 7They were excited and amazed, and said:

Don’t all these who are speaking come from Galilee? 8Then why do we hear them speaking our very own languages? 9Some of us are from Parthia, Media, and Elam. Others are from Mesopotamia, Judea, Cappadocia, Pontus, Asia, 10Phrygia, Pamphylia, Egypt, parts of Libya near Cyrene, Rome, 11Crete, and Arabia. Some of us were born Jews, and others of us have chosen to be Jews. Yet we all hear them using our own languages to tell the wonderful things God has done.

       12Everyone was excited and confused. Some of them even kept asking each other, “What does all this mean?”
       13Others made fun of the LORD’S followers and said, “They are drunk.”

       14Peter stood with the eleven apostles and spoke in a loud and clear voice to the crowd:

Friends and everyone else living in Jerusalem, listen carefully to what I have to say! 15You are wrong to think that these people are drunk. After all, it is only nine o’clock in the morning. 16But this is what God had the prophet Joel say,

17“When the last days come,

I will give my Spirit to everyone.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy.
Your young men will see visions,

and your old men will have dreams.
18In those days I will give my Spirit to my servants,
to my servants, both men and women,

and they will prophesy.
19I will work miracles in the sky above
and wonders on the earth below.

There will be blood and fire and clouds of smoke.
20The sun will turn dark,

and the moon will be as red as blood
before the great and wonderful day

of the Lord appears.
21Then the Lord will save everyone

who asks for his help.”

 

PSALMODY: Psalm 104:24-34, 35b

24Our LORD, by your wisdom you made so many things;
       the whole earth is covered with your living creatures.
25But what about the ocean so big and wide?
It is alive with creatures, large and small.
26And there are the ships, as well as Leviathan,

       the monster you created to splash in the sea.
27All of these depend on you to provide them with food,
28and you feed each one with your own hand,
until they are full.
29But when you turn away, they are terrified;

       when you end their life, they die and rot.
30You created all of them by your Spirit,
and you give new life to the earth.
31Our LORD, we pray that your glory will last forever

and that you will be pleased
       with what you have done.
32You look at the earth, and it trembles.
You touch the mountains, and smoke goes up.
33As long as I live,

       I will sing and praise you, the LORD God.
34I hope my thoughts will please you,
because you are the one who makes me glad.
With all my heart I praise you, LORD! I praise you!

 SECOND READING: Romans 8:22-27

 22We know that all creation is still groaning and is in pain, like a woman about to give birth.
       23The Spirit makes us sure about what we will be in the future. But now we groan silently, while we wait for God to show that we are his children. This means that our bodies will also be set free. 24And this hope is what saves us. But if we already have what we hope for, there is no need to keep on hoping. 25However, we hope for something we have not yet seen, and we patiently wait for it.
       26In certain ways we are weak, but the Spirit is here to help us. For example, when we don’t know what to pray for, the Spirit prays for us in ways that cannot be put into words. 27All of our thoughts are known to God. He can understand what is in the mind of the Spirit, as the Spirit prays for God’s people.

 GOSPEL: John 15:26-27, 16:4b-15

   26I will send you the Spirit who comes from the Father and shows what is true. The Spirit will help you and will tell you about me. 27Then you will also tell others about me, because you have been with me from the beginning.
   I was with you at the first, and so I didn’t tell you these things. 5But now I am going back to the Father who sent me, and none of you asks me where I am going. 6You are very sad from hearing all of this. 7But I tell you that I am going to do what is best for you. That is why I am going away. The Holy Spirit cannot come to helpa you until I leave. But after I am gone, I will send the Spirit to you.
   8The Spirit will come and show the people of this world the truth about sin and God’s justice and the judgment. 9The Spirit will show them that they are wrong about sin, because they didn’t have faith in me. 10They are wrong about God’s justice, because I am going to the Father, and you won’t see me again. 11And they are wrong about the judgment, because God has already judged the ruler of this world.
   12I have much more to say to you, but right now it would be more than you could understand. 13The Spirit shows what is true and will come and guide you into the full truth. The Spirit doesn’t speak on his own. He will tell you only what he has heard from me, and he will let you know what is going to happen. 14The Spirit will bring glory to me by taking my message and telling it to you. 15Everything that the Father has is mine. That is why I have said that the Spirit takes my message and tells it to you.

Leave a Reply

