Read It Here, Sunday, 5/20/12

May 20, 2012    The Seventh Sunday of Easter

FIRST READING: Acts 1:15-17, 21-26

15One day there were about one hundred twenty of the LORD’S followers meeting together, and Peter stood up to speak to them. 16-17He said:

My friends, long ago by the power of the Holy Spirit, David said something about Judas, and what he said has now happened. Judas was one of us and had worked with us, but he brought the mob to arrest Jesus.

21-22So we need someone else to help us tell others that Jesus has been raised from death. He must also be one of the men who was with us from the very beginning. He must have been with us from the time the Lord Jesus was baptized by John until the day he was taken to heaven.

23Two men were suggested: One of them was Joseph Barsabbas, known as Justus, and the other was Matthias. 24Then they all prayed, “Lord, you know what everyone is like! Show us the one you have chosen 25to be an apostle and to serve in place of Judas, who got what he deserved.” 26They drew names, and Matthias was chosen to join the group of the eleven apostles.

PSALMODY: Psalm 1

1God blesses those people who refuse evil advice
and won’t follow sinners
or join in sneering at God.
2Instead, the Law of the LORD makes them happy,
and they think about it day and night.

3They are like trees growing beside a stream,
trees that produce fruit in season
and always have leaves.
Those people succeed in everything they do.

4That isn’t true of those who are evil,
because they are like straw blown by the wind.
5Sinners won’t have an excuse on the day of judgment,
and they won’t have a place with the people of God.
6The LORD protects everyone who follows him,
       but the wicked follow a road that leads to ruin.

SECOND READING: 1 John 5:9-13

          9We believe what people tell us. But we can trust what God says even more, and God is the one who has spoken about his Son. 10If we have faith in God’s Son, we have believed what God has said. But if we don’t believe what God has said about his Son, it is the same as calling God a liar. 11God has also said that he gave us eternal life and that this life comes to us from his Son. 12And so, if we have God’s Son, we have this life. But if we don’t have the Son, we don’t have this life.

          13All of you have faith in the Son of God, and I have written to let you know that you have eternal life.

GOSPEL: John 17:6-19

   6You have given me some followers from this world, and I have shown them what you are like. They were yours, but you gave them to me, and they have obeyed you. 7They know that you gave me everything I have. 8I told my followers what you told me, and they accepted it. They know that I came from you, and they believe that you are the one who sent me. 9I am praying for them, but not for those who belong to this world. My followers belong to you, and I am praying for them. 10All that I have is yours, and all that you have is mine, and they will bring glory to me.
11Holy Father, I am no longer in the world. I am coming to you, but my followers are still in the world. So keep them safe by the power of the name that you have given me. Then they will be one with each other, just as you and I are one. 12While I was with them, I kept them safe by the power you have given me. I guarded them, and not one of them was lost, except the one who had to be lost. This happened so that what the Scriptures say would come true.
13I am on my way to you. But I say these things while I am still in the world, so that my followers will have the same complete joy that I do. 14I have told them your message. But the people of this world hate them, because they don’t belong to this world, just as I don’t.
15Father, I don’t ask you to take my followers out of the world, but keep them safe from the evil one. 16They don’t belong to this world, and neither
do I. 17Your word is the truth. So let this truth make them completely yours. 18I am sending them into the world, just as you sent me. 19I have given myself completely for their sake, so that they may belong completely to the truth.

Luke 24:44-53
24:44 Then he said to them, “These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you–that everything written about me in the law of Moses, the prophets, and the psalms must be fulfilled.”

24:45 Then he opened their minds to understand the scriptures,

24:46 and he said to them, “Thus it is written, that the Messiah is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day,

24:47 and that repentance and forgiveness of sins is to be proclaimed in his name to all nations, beginning from Jerusalem.

24:48 You are witnesses of these things.

24:49 And see, I am sending upon you what my Father promised; so stay here in the city until you have been clothed with power from on high.”

24:50 Then he led them out as far as Bethany, and, lifting up his hands, he blessed them.

24:51 While he was blessing them, he withdrew from them and was carried up into heaven.

24:52 And they worshiped him, and returned to Jerusalem with great joy;

24:53 and they were continually in the temple blessing God.

Leave a Reply

