An Outsider’s Faith

 “AN OUTSIDER’S FAITH”

  He came unto this alien shore this weary Christ
  He looked to work no wonders here just timely rest
  My neighbors saw him as a crank a weirdo priest.

  I saw him as my one last hope to save my child
  And followed him along the street with my face veiled
  I needed to get close to him and would not yield.

  His friends thought me an unclean thing too foul to touch
  They asked him to get rid of me a pagan wretch
  I flung myself down at his feet within his reach.

  He placed his hand upon my head and heaven was there
  I told him of my daughter’s plight and felt his care
  He sent me dancing down the street light as the air!

       (Copyright. Bruce D. Prewer, 1996.)

Leave a Reply

